my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

154. Flat tire and flat-tired of life

I haven't heard from the guy I was dating for a while. During the days he was gone, I was under the impression that he was in Singapore (he told me that he needed to visit because he had a job opportunity there). On Sunday, he assured me that he would respond as soon as he was free. I found it kinda of weird that he didn't talk to me for 3 days, even though we had spoken almost every evening for the last three weeks.

It was about 5 days of ghosting before he sent me a terribly long explanation (literally, it was a 10-paragraph WhatsApp message of, I presume, AI-generated text) why he wasn't responding and why he didn't want to go to Malacca with me. It was unfortunate that I emailed him the accommodations right after our date. We planned everything once we were finished with the museum...

In his incredibly drawn out apology, he had explained to me that he wasn't even in Singapore, he was in Langkawi Island the entire time and that he felt super uncomfortable going to Malacca with me, so he ditched me. In my opinion, perhaps it was a bit too soon to jump the gun and take a trip together right off the bat, but I didn't expect him to run away to a beach island right after we had a really nice date? Malacca was just a 2 hour bus ride trip and we were going to stay there for one day. We were going to return as soon as we finished exploring the Old Town and Food Street. Needless to say, I was a bit pissed off.


I decided that I needed a night out after receiving such a shitty block of text. God, I needed a drink and to vent to my friends. I decided to join the pub crawl that Thursday evening.

Everything at the pub crawl was routine as usual. There were a couple of new faces in the crawl. A friend of my co-host was visiting from Australia. She really wanted to drink and vent as well.

We visited a couple bars and clubs and had a good time overall, but I was still trying to process the giant rejection I had received hours before. Obviously, I was devastated and felt hurt that he had abandoned me to go to Langkawi Island, instead of face me in person. Perhaps I was being a little too dramatic.

Me, the other pub crawl host, and the friend from out of town was invited by Uncle to go back to his place. I refuse to step foot anywhere near where that man lives. We tried to think of a good excuse to get out of this impromptu invitation as we were driving out of downtown.

While we were driving, we felt a sudden jolt and the car wheels sounded like they were scraping along the road. We had to pull over to a nearby gas station and take a look at the tire. My friend tried to pump air into it, but we inspected a little closer and the tire was completely shredded.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

The reason why we had to pull over. We suspected someone slashed my friend's tire?

I had no idea why we were trying to pump air into this flimsy piece of rubber. That tire was totally ripped apart. We didn't realize because it was way too dark. As we were trying our best to use the car jack, a man stopped and helped us, unprompted. He was super quick, like a Formula 1 pit crew, and he walked away after he finished changing the tire. He didn't ask for anything in return, but we gave him a KitKat ice cream for his kindness. He just disappeared into the night.

I need a little break, man.


~ tired out,

<3 K

🍄 https://exponixio.bearblog.dev/