my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

122. [DIEC] Langkawi: Lovely, lax, and lounging

This is a continued story, a DIEC publication, from this blog post, 102. Trying not to be just a romantic travel story. I wanted to show more photos of this island adventure.

--

[9:30-10:30AM]: We prepared for the day and drove the scooter to a coffee stand called Alami Espresso Shack. The owner of the coffee stand is a barista and full-surfer named Han. He was very cool and served us some local Malaysian coffee. His daily routine consists of: selling coffee in the morning; hitting the waves in the afternoon. There are many cute cats around his coffee stand! We admired the local cats as we ate our breakfast before we headed off.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

There is a restaurant/yoga studio place across from Han's coffee shop. We shared toast and smoothie bowl breakfast.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Cute cats all over!

--

[10:30AM-12:30PM]: The distance between the coffee stop and our destination was about 28 km. We were fueled by caffeine and made our way towards the Temurun Waterfall.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Lovely sign here

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

The walking path leading to the waterfall! It will take ~5 minutes to get to the good stuff!

This 3 tier waterfall was a very lovely sight to see! It was only a few minutes walk from the parking area off of the main road. I anticipated a longer hike! It was a little rocky and you might have to use your hands to climb up the bigger boulders, but it's not that bad. This place is better to visit after rainfall.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Nice rocks here at Temurun Waterfall

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Me admiring the monkey

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

You can swim in the pools at the base of the waterfall!

--

[1:00-4:00PM]: After we visited the waterfall, we made our way to the Tanjung Rhu Beach. It was about a half-hour drive (~24 km) and really worth to see!

We bought 10 chicken satay and a coconut to drink from. My German companion was not very fond of the coconut beverage, plus it was a little bit expensive. The chicken was great and the peanut butter sauce was tasty!

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

I love satay!

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

A pretty relaxed place. Not a lot of tourists here! The white sand was beautiful!

We hung around the beach and swam in the water for a while. It was very relaxing.

--

[4:30-6:30PM]: After our afternoon at the beach, we made our way back to the city center of Langkawi. We decided to head southeast because we wanted to loop around the entire island. We got caught in the rain and decided to stop at Kuah. We drank some Milos and watched the rain fall before we headed back to our accommodations.

--

[6:30-7:30PM]: We made our way back to the western part of Langkawi island after the long hour of rain. We road along a really long beach street called "Jalan Kuala Muda" and saw a lot of hawker stands here. The area is called "Laska Corner Langkawi and it's a really cool place to just relax on the sand and watch the airplanes go by (since it's adjacent to the airport!)

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

The Langkawi International Airport code is LGK

--

[9:00PM-10:00PM]: We visited the Padang Matsirat Night Market, which is one of five night markets that take place at various locations in Langkawi. The hours on Google Maps says that it's open at 6PM, but the majority of food stalls weren't open until 8PM. We decided to walk around the beachfront until the vendors were ready.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Motorcycle gang in one of the parking lots near the beach.

It was a very lively scene. They had a lot of different options for food! Local and international cuisine were offered in every corner.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

A photo of the Padang Matsirat Night Market. A long stretch of road that had many different food options.


Places I Visited:


~ langka-meow,

<3 K

#diary in every city #diec #malaysia #tourist #travel