my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

104. Weekend trek to a friend's hotel in the boonies

This is a continued story from the Crazy people, crazy stories - a week of meeting colorful characters post.


Last Weekend

I actually met an American friend from Boston the same night I met my German friend. The friend I made is a climber, like me, and we got along pretty well. He is a much better and more experienced climber than me. He actually invited me to go to the gym with him the following week. I accepted. Let's go bouldering!

When I got to know him better, he told me some different some stories that, although seem quite far-fetched, are very true and very real experiences that he has lived. However, he says it in such a nonchalant and rather tepid manner. Well, I guess I have no choice but to accept them as fact. There have been tales of him traversing across the entire United States in his car, him being interrogated by the US government for some reason, him scamming food conventions with his buddies...

He also told me that he does not enjoy the food in Kuala Lumpur, an opinion which I find rather outrageous. He just landed in Malaysia from Thailand and Vietnam, so understandably he would have a much different perspective of what "Southeast Asian" foods are just based on his experience up north. I personally think that Malaysian food is superb. I started naming off different local foods from Malaysia, but he says that they're either A.) pretty boring or just "standard"; B.) Too spicy; or C.) didn't try it. I was a little disappointed to hear all of this.

I took him to different restaurants to change his opinion. That weekend, I had him try Indian banana leaf, nasi lemak, nasi goreng, you know, the works. He said they were just okay. I asked him why he was staying in KL for such a long time if he doesn't like the food. Though the local food wasn't very good (according to him), there are other varieties of foods and cuisines that he enjoyed and that his rent was pretty cheap anyway. I was a little disappointed to hear this.

Whenever I travel to a new place, I always go for all the local foods by visiting the grocery stores and markets in the area. If I visit a city and I don't like their food, I won't enjoy my stay there. Even if there's beautiful architecture, sights, and cool activities to do- if I don't enjoy the local cuisine, then I won't have a good time. Happy stomach, happy holiday.

--

On Sunday, I agreed to visit his hotel and did not anticipate how far the distance was to the center of town. It was a very long trek (it took approximately 2 hours and 45 minutes). He insisted that I get a driver instead of my usual train commute. I was very reluctant to take a car out there, because it's triple the price of taking the train and walking- even though I would have shaved off maybe half an hour of time. I took my time and walked the entire way from the train station, admiring the little cats along the roadside.

He told me that he invited a lot of people from the hostel he stayed at to come over and hang out at the pool. He was a little sad that more than 5 people initially agreed and then flaked on him when the day of the hangout came. He said he was a bit bothered by that incident, but it's no big deal- "that's how most travelers are", he had told me. Although the sentiment is rather nice and cool that he could provide a good "hang-out" spot for others, I lightly complained to him that his place is a little out of the way and that it wouldn't really be fair to ask people to come over his place if it's such a long distance from the city center.

I also lightly informed him that most people in Asia (what I have noticed about local people around SE Asia and international tourists) would prefer that they meet in a public setting, like a restaurant, or cafe, or bar, rather than going over someone's house, just to hang out briefly. People in Asia tend to live with their family, as well, so they don't like to hang out at their house because their family could be nosy or bothersome. There are some people that are rather accommodating and will invite you over to their homes, but more often than not, an initial hang-out will probably take place where you at eat-out.  A lot of friends have told me this cultural tidbit and I've had this experience myself.

Well anyway, I went over his place anyway. I felt bad that his hostel friends flaked on his invitation. But I have to complain again- dear God, it was so far. He told me that he's gotten used to the commute and he has a lot of amenities at his residential area. Although the accommodation did provide a lovely jacuzzi, pool, work area, and game room, I don't think he should rely on these amenities to get people to come over. People want to hang out with people because they want to get to know the other person better, not because they can use the really pool there... and if they just want to use the amenities, these are the type of people you really don't want to hang out with.

Maybe I am scrutinizing too much. I don't mean to complain.


~ weekend wandering,

<3 K