my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

150. A very much needed girls' night out

I got a very dire text from a friend in the middle of the afternoon on Thursday.

"Hey BETCH DO U WANNA GO OUT TONIGHT"

"What time" I respond back.

I think she needed a break from her boyfriend bugging her and I needed a break from life, in general, with good music and an open dance floor.

Venue: a clandestine bar tucked in the corner of some building in Changkat

Time: 10PM

Objective: to have fun


Changkat is a popular street known for its vibrant nightlife scene, particularly famous for its rows of bars, restaurants, and clubs. I'm usually there on the weekends to co-host the pub crawls, but sometimes I make an appearance during the week. It's a hub for socializing, partying, and enjoying live music, making it a go-to destination for those looking for a lively night out in KL. The train finally arrived and the neon signs and distant sounds of laughter guided me through the maze of alleys until I reached the unassuming entrance. I was asking the staff where the specific bar is, which happens to behind a dark set of doors. My friend fetched me outside.

I had made plans to go bouldering with friends at the climbing gym. Luckily, I was working from home, so I simply packed a cocktail dress along with my climbing shoes in my bag. After a couple hours of exercise, it was time to leave. It was a great climbing session, but I had to catch the train downtown. As I sat on the train, I glanced at my phone, checking the time. 9:30 PM.

The bar had dimly lit interior. There was literally no one there, but we filled the room with our laughter and gossip. We caught up with life. She was asking me about my current love life. I was telling her about the guy I went on a date with the other day. He and I seemed to hit it off pretty well and we're continuing to talk everyday. I didn't have many photos of him, so I showed her this instead (she made a meme of it):

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

On Thursdays, ladies drink free. We ordered so many highballs for the two of us. I just came from the gym. I was hungry... so I snuck in a bag of french fries and slyly finished them in the bathroom. My friend said that she had a present for me, then proceeded to dump a bunch of yaoi stickers on the table. Luckily, I brought my new water bottle and populated its surface area with lovely images of anime gay boys.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

We were literally the only two people at the club. I was so amazed. No one in the club but us. I asked the DJ for many song requests, including: All-American Rejects, Fall Out Boy, Panic! At The Disco, and he complied. I joined her on the dance floor, surrendering to the rhythm of the music. For a moment, time seemed to stand still, leaving only the present moment of pure joy and camaraderie.

As the night drew to a close, we emerged from the bar, breathless, drunk, and happy. The city twinkled around us, a silent witness to the memories we had created. We had to carefully walk up the hill so that my friend could return back to her boyfriend's apartment. We sat at the entrance, waiting for my rideshare to come. An older couple saw us, sitting alone.

The husband had the audacity to ask us, "How much for the both of you?" We were scantily clad women sitting on the curb... I don't think that's the appropriate question to ask any person, to be honest.

So we responded with a "excuse me?" and then series of expletives. I also followed up with a comment. Something along the lines of:

"M'am, can you keep your husband on a leash?"

Men are such dogs.

My ride finally arrived around midnight. I slumped down in the back of the car. I was pretty happy overall. The night was just a nice reminder of the simple joy of being alive.


~ certainly not crying in the club right now,

<3 K

🍄 https://exponixio.bearblog.dev/