my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

107. Wednesday (ninja) warrior wonder and getting my just desserts

This is a continued story from the Crazy people, crazy stories - a week of meeting colorful characters post.


Wednesday

Around the afternoon, I joined my American friend and my new Danish friend at the same climbing gym. I was a little bit nervous about doing the ninja course, but it went smoothly and we all had a bit of fun. I was so tired running around and climbing on top of things. My upper body ached, but I continued to run around anyway. Three little children that was accompanied by one of the staff was watching the three of us run around the course.

One of my favorite obstacles from the course was the giant warped wall. You are supposed to sprint full speed, grab the top of the wall with your hands, and pull yourself up. I failed the first time, but made it up there every subsequent time after that. It was a tiring course, but I had a good time. Even the kids watching us was having a good time. Our Danish friend was so sweet, he encouraged the children to run the entire course and pulled each one of the kids up the warped wall because they were too short to reach the top.

--

We decided to go back into the street to search for food. We went into one of the malls and tried our luck at the food courts. Our Danish companion had a mind that frequently wandered and he swerved out of our route to enter "Don Don Donki," one of the most famous Japanese treasure troves of snacks that are popular among locals and tourists alike. We love Don Don Donki. An intoxicating, catchy theme song rang in our ears as we meandered around its aisles of sweet confections and creamy pastries.

"He's like a Golden Retriever honestly." my American friend whispered in my ear, "When we're in a group setting, we would lose him every minute or so but he would join up with us after a while."

I didn't mind. It was funny to lose him and find him again while we were wandering around the shop. We admired the creamy desserts and large variety of ramen shelves around the store.

We were so inspired by Don Don Donki that we decided to get some Japanese dinner. I had a nice time eating my curry and chicken katsu. My American friend finished his food and happily proclaimed, "this is one of the best meals I've ever had in Malaysia."

"But it's not even Malaysian food!" I was so shocked.

--

It was time for dessert. I was really itching for an ice cream cone. There was one ice cream stand that I thought seemed reasonable. I didn't realize it was that Turkish ice cream phenomena that the Internet raves over. The Turkish ice cream man trend has touched down in Malaysia. This trickster has gotten the act of trolling down to an art. His tricks combined with his delicious ice cream tripped me up. I didn't realize I was getting "Turkish ice cream man'd" until I went to reach out for my ice cream. My friends were laughing at me and decided to record me getting bamboozled. Even strangers walking by took a video of the spectacle.

I was sick of this man’s shit. I bit the ice cream cone and ended the whole charade. I felt so proud.

I laughed at myself so hard. It was a 3 minute and 41 second video of me getting my "just desserts" (literally). Awesome.


~ Wednesday break my heart,

<3 K