my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

97. Waiting for my ice lemon drink

Even though I made a couple of friends in the city now, I always have dinner alone. I don't mind it. It's a nice nightly ritual for me.


This little story happened a few days ago actually, amidst the Diwali celebrations happening around the city. The streets were packed and families were having dinner in every Indian restaurant in the neighborhood. I was heading out to see my friends, so I was looking a little more stylish than usual. Before heading over to the bar, I really wanted to eat first before getting sloshed on beer and shots. I decided to head down over to eat down the street from my apartment.

There weren't a lot of a chairs available for a party of one, so the staff asked if I can share a table with a mother and daughter outside. I made my way over to the table, and scooted my chair a little bit to the left to create some distance, so that we could try to dine "separately", but at the same table.

I scanned over the menu and asked for my usual drink order, ice lemon tea. I also asked for a butter chicken and rice and different chutneys and sides for my dinner today. I was told by my Indian friends that I shouldn't actually eat meat during the holiday (this was my mistake! oops!), but they were like: eh it's fine. I'm glad you're enjoying the food.

The mother and daughter were sat next to me, having some sort of argument. I tried not to listen, so I was quietly tapping away on my phone to look like I was in the middle of something else more interesting on my screen. I couldn't help but eavesdrop just a little bit. The daughter wasn't having it. She was probably around 12-14 years old and was reluctant in agreeing to wearing a dress than her mom picked out for some party. While I was sat at her table, she was wearing a shirt that says "HAPPY!", which I found really ironic. Her face was nowhere near "HAPPY!".

I dug into my dinner while I was looking off to the side, trying not to make eye contact while the two ladies were squabbling privately. They were gesturing at me for some reason, but I was ignoring it, trying to just mind my own business as I was eating.

The mother ordered a chai right before me, but she saw that my food came right away. She sent her reluctant daughter to complain on her behalf as she was sitting a little bit closer to the staff, and she was boxed in a corner of the table. The daughter was really upset and stomped out to the waiter and pointed at our table. Her chai came instantly, but I was still without my drink :(

The restaurant was buzzing with people, so I didn't want to hurry the staff. Their tables turned over constantly and clientele walked in and out. The chicken was a little spicy, so I was hoping that drink would pop up pretty soon...

The woman and her daughter wanted to leave, so the mother went up to the counter to pay. I was left alone with the girl at the table. I was just trying out all the different chutneys on my plate (I really like the mint dipping sauce one...). She looked at me and said, "You are really pretty" while I had a mouth full of tomato. I was flattered.


I was still waiting for my ice lemon drink. The mother and daughter left hastily and there was a free spot open. The staff sat a guy next to me. He seemed friendly, in his 30s or 40s. He was on holiday and wanted to have a nice dinner.

"Where are you from?" he asked me, I actually heard a bit of a Spain accent. We chatted for a bit in English, when he asked me if I spoke a bit of Spanish. I responded with a, "Sí, puedo hablar. Pero he olvidado mucho vocabulario." and tried to bumble my way in a mixture of Spanish and English.

The man came from Sevilla and was traveling solo and celebrating his birthday. I didn't ask how old he was turning, but he seemed to enjoy having some company for dinner. I didn't mind the company either. Our conversation was about 60% Spanish and 40% English. He was trying to improve on his English so I helped him with some words. I was trying to remember and get back into the rhythm of conversation. It was kinda rough. I was feeling a bit bad because I did forget a lot of words and grammar structure. But honestly, I think he was happy that I tried my best.

I received a heaping spoonful of kesari baat from the waiter and was happily sharing it with the Spanish man. We both enjoyed the small dessert and chatted away.

I finally received my lemon drink at the end of my dinner though... I was late to see my friends so I had to leave right after. I said one final birthday greeting to the man accompanied with a "ciao ciao" and had to catch the train over to the bars.

We never exchanged names. It was a nice short dinner. I was very glad.


~ a limao ais girl,

<3 K