my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

125. Things are settling down

Things are settling down

I just got back home. My mother is in town. The apartment is still undergoing a lot of renovations. I’m applying to so many jobs. My local friends, as well as my long distance friends, miss me a lot. I have a rather adventurous whirlwind of a romantic life (hopefully that chapter is coming to a close).

These past few days, I’ve been settling down quite well and freshly out of holiday mode. I’ve just been going around, trying to supervise some of the construction and furniture delivery, all while trying to figure out job prospects, maintaining friends, navigating through a messy romantic life.

My friends told me that my life is very “sims-coded”. I laughed so hard. My Hunger meter is currently in between yellow and light green.

I’ve been trying to appease my mother by showing her the giant spreadsheet I made that shows all job listings I applied to. It’s a little hard to find something suitable and sustainable for me, but I’m still working on it. I honestly feel misu and pj’s pain.

One of misu’s posts about “grading your life” really stuck out to me. I don’t want to assess myself right now, but I personally feel like I’m at a B average. Not too shabby, can’t complain, still not A+ status- because there are many things about myself I want to work on.


There comes a point in life where you’re finally feeling good and want to settle down. Most people go through their wild phase right after they graduate from school. However, I don’t think I’ve truly gone through a true “party girl” phase during my high school and university years (I’ve gone to a few parties, but not every single weekend!).

So, it seems like I’m catching up with my peers and early signs alcoholism. In fairness, I don’t like to drink an overwhelming amount… I’ve gotten to that age where I could hardly bounce back from hangovers now.

It’s not like I yearn to go out often, but I do like a pint with friends and having a nice chat. Something pleasant and simple like that. I believe that counts as “going out.” Well, sometimes you can find me at a Latin club dancing. I hardly consume any form of liquor at the club, I’m too busy dancing.

I sometimes feel like I’m a bit misplaced amongst my friends, especially in the US. I like telling about my adventures and stories, especially about different love interests, but I feel like there are sometimes aspects about my life that don’t necessarily match up with theirs. Not that there’s anything wrong with their or my lifestyle choices at all. I just feel the differences heavily.

I think I have to ease into the role of (according to my friends) the “kind-hearted, single, and ‘rather cultured for an American’ travelling bestie with a penchant for being in the most vulnerable yet interesting situations.”

Hopefully my title will change one day. I enjoy it now, but maybe in a little while I have to change somehow.

I read somewhere that your personality doesn’t really change that much overtime. Actually that seems a bit false. Early personalities may provide a baseline, but they are surprisingly malleable as we age.

I feel like it's not really the nature that varies throughout the year, it’s really just their habits.

I’m doing pretty okay! Yay.


~ a settler of catan,

<3 K