my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

126. There is no romantic guidebook

I am very appreciative of my friends and family giving me support and romantic advice during this "lover girl" dating phase of my life. It's a little bit daunting to hear all of these different things... I have to "up my game" and "have rizz" and "don't be too much, reign it in a little bit you're going to scare him." Sigh.

The post I wrote about my "roster" has gone completely out the window. The roster is closed. I do not want a "hoetation." I do not want to entertain all of these different people. I'm just a bit exhausted of trying to show all my good sides- be flirty, be cool, be exciting- but not too much or else you'll chase them away with how weird you are/how keen you are.

I feel so sick to my stomach. I don't know how to talk to multiple romantic interests without feeling inauthentic and pulled in different directions.

I apologize for sounding so whiny. In all honesty, I feel like I've gotten a bit desperate. Also, I have the awful idea in my head that my friends pity me a bit. I keep asking my friends about what to do, over and over again, but I think I gotta pull myself away.

Then pull myself together.


Anyway, I've established some rules for myself:

God... I really don't know how to "modern date" in our Lord's year 2024. I feel so overwhelmed. I'm supposed to be interesting, but not too niche. I'm supposed to be down for anything, but not overly slutty. I'm supposed to be adventurous, but not too crazy. I know I'm overthinking. I just can't help it. Something unknown like navigating a new relationship is kinda scary. There's no guidebook to romance at all. Are we supposed to write our own rules and adjust it based on the person you're currently seeing or what?

Advice is welcome, but honestly just kind words and validation is preferred. Honestly, I just want to love again.


~ lover girl era,

<3 K