my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

88. Ouran High School Host Club should get a reboot

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Title: Ouran High School Host Club

Original airing: April 5, 2006 to September 27, 2006

Studio: Bones

Episodes: 26

Duration: 24 mins per episode

Genres: Shoujo, Comedy, Romance, School Life

Source: Ōran Kōkō Hosuto Kurabu by Bisco Hatori


So I’ve had the idea of writing about one of my favorite things like this for a while, but I’m only getting around to it just now because of boredom and/or inspiration. It's just an exercise of finding things that I truly adored and writing about it. Also, I absolutely believe that Ouran should get a reboot. They finished the manga!?

As a child, I started watching anime (From Pokemon to One Piece). Most of the popular ones have been mostly boyish shounen series that garnered a lot of attention internationally. Don't get me wrong, I absolutely love shows like Fullmetal Alchemist and Detective Conan, but I really enjoyed the popular shounen series, I wanted to consume more media that had girl protagonists. I've decided to explore a lot more feminine girly shoujo series about two decades ago and I’ve managed to burn my way through a lot of shows in a relatively short time. Here is my list of shoujo series I enjoy:

  1. Ouran High School Host Club (2006)
  2. Peach Girl (2005)
  3. Fruits Basket (2001)
  4. Vampire Knight (2008)
  5. Watashi ga Motete Dousunda (Kiss Him Not Me) (2016)
  6. Shugo Chara (2007)
  7. Kaichou wa Maid-sama! (2010)
  8. Lovely★Complex (2007)
  9. Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You (2009)
  10. Orange (2016)

My all-time favorite anime has to be Ouran High School Host Club. This is one of the first series I watched and it will forever be in my heart. I watched both the Japanese and English dub and they are both perfect.

Ouran High School Host Club (OHSHC) presented itself as a satire of the Japanese shoujo (girls) genre. Like a lot of other animes, it wasn’t afraid to explore gender. Crossdressing, gender-bending, and queer relationships seemed more common in the world of anime back then. A lot of the jokes and schticks are pretty problematic now, but back then people chalk it up to the humor at the time. Initially, OHSHC appeared as if it would be another light humorous anime mixed with a bit of romance as it centers around a "reverse harem."

The story takes place mainly at Ouran Academy, a private school that caters to children from privileged families. With an abundant allowance (and far too much free time), these rich kids are easily bored. So naturally, a Host Club is established so that a group of attractive boys can lavish attention on girls who are far too disinterested in life; for a fee of course. I was really unfamiliar with this concept as a kid. I thought that this was just platonic prostitution? I found out later in life that host clubs are a real thing in Japan and it's quite common and honestly, if I can afford it, I think I would try it too. It sounds like fun. I feel like if women can do Chippendales and Magic Mike in the West, then I think I can enjoy a host club in Japan?

I actually did this a decade ago, and I think my ranking still stands.

Ranking of the Ouran boys:

  1. Mori - 森??? climb him like a tree (I was trying to make a funny word play joke, but this is incorrect, his name 銛之塚 崇 - the first kanji means 'harpoon' they explained this in the anime actually)
  2. Kaori - the sensitive twin
  3. Tamaki - he's so charming tbh
  4. Hikaru - the bratty twin
  5. Kyouya - that uh... scene in the bedroom was so disturbing to me tbh
  6. Honey - ....that's a child

Play: Musical Ouran High School Host Club for JLODlive This is AMAZING

I will forever be a big advocator for this wonderful show.

Content by fans:


~ putting the ho in host club,

<3 K