my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

72. [Review] One Piece (Netflix Live Adaptation)- I'm going to be King of the Pirates

One Piece, created by Eiichiro Oda, is an iconic manga and anime series that has captured the hearts of millions of fans worldwide. It has rich storytelling, intricate world-building, and memorable characters have made it a beloved classic. In 2021, Netflix announced its intention to produce a live-action adaptation of the series, sparking both excitement and apprehension among fans. I decided to watch it with my brother every single day last week.

I watched a couple of anime episodes a decade ago or so. I was slightly discouraged by the many chapters and felt like I couldn't finish it, so I set it aside. My family, however, adores this manga/anime (way more than me!). I knew all of the characters, but my mind forgot a lot of the story arcs while I was watching, so I literally did not remember what happened when I was watching the live-action adaptation.

My brother described my viewing as this,

"You watching the Netflix One Piece is like eating Panda Express... Okay, Panda Express is pretty good, but it's not really genuine Chinese food. You get all of the same elements, sort of the same flavor... It's still tasty though, I'll eat it."

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me Source: One Piece creator on Inaki as Luffy: ‘He was just like the person I drew in my manga’


The live-action Netflix adaptation of One Piece faces a daunting task in capturing the essence of the beloved manga and anime. The challenges of character depiction, world-building, special effects, and story pacing are significant. However, if executed with care, creativity, and respect for the source material, it would the potential to offer fans a fresh perspective and probably give Netflix the redemption arc for their anime adaptations (e.g., Cowboy Bebop and Death Note).


Cast

skip the following if you don't want to see spoilers in each episode _____________________________________________________________________

My (unfiltered) thoughts (in bulleted list form) throughout the whole series:

Episode 1:

Episode 2:

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

me the entire time watching this entire series

Episode 3 and 4

Episode 5 and 6

Episode 7 and 8

Very rarely there is a live action adaptation to a manga or anime that truly is good quality (well actually, I really liked Speed Racer (2008) to be honest...)Oh I hope there is a Season Two.


~ a gomu-gomu no mi,

<3 K