my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

22. Poetry challenge #1

I try to participate at a writers forum and every weekend they send us a prompt. This week’s prompt is a poetry challenge. This will be my first challenge post.

[Find as many words as you can from the following letters:

A, E, S, O, R, I, L, T

Then, write a poem! The catch: every line must include a word from the words you found.]


[1 minute timer of finding words]

isolate, realist, to, so, is, let, set, alert, i, a, stir, saltier, serial, satire, trail, arose, stare, star, list, are, its, art, east, riot, sea


In this world, we tend to isolate

A realist speaks ill of his own fate

To see the truth, we have to strive,

So let's uncover what's alive.

--

The clock is ticking, time is set,

Alert the mind- it won't forget.

Stir the thoughts, the ideas blend,

Let them go as we transcend.

--

With curious stare, we scan afar,

Wishing upon a shining star,

A list of dreams, hopes always high,

That is the spark that light our sky.

--

Life's flavors sweeter and saltier than before,

Through the serial moments that we explore.

Satire drips and dances in our words,

Arose laughter through the whispers unheard.

--

In every stroke, its own fine art,

Expressed emotions, a beating heart.

From west to east, love ignites,

I rest soundly all day and night.

--

Amidst chaos and riot's roar,

We find solace on a seashore,

For in the trails of human kind,

Hope's melodies are all we shall find.


To be honest, I don't like how I write like one of those pseudo-philosophical YouTube videos but c'est la vie. I wish I had better flow and knew how to write rap in real time haha. This took me a while to think of.

~ a former dr. seuss apprentice (becoming overly 2deep4u),

<3 K

#life #poem #poetry #writing