my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

23. [OOMFH] TV Tropes: My favorite tropes list

trope: a conceptual figure of speech --> a storytelling shorthand for concepts that audiences can instantly understand (?)

The website, TV tropes (https://tvtropes.org/) is a website "that collects and documents descriptions and examples of plot conventions and devices, which it refers to as tropes, within many creative works." (According to Wikipedia)

Apparently, the word "trope" has taken on a broader definition throughout the years to the point where it could mean "anything to anyone". The definition of the word, "trope" has changed over the years (for many words this is a very common thing, a natural part of the way language evolves). Even if you haven't browsed through the website, you probably have heard some of its lexicon when you're discussing TV or movies with friends.

This is basically a website that catalogues genre fiction. Many people do not really like the fact that it kind of "categorizes" and "simplifies" concepts in film or TV to the point that it's just a little scribbled on notecard in a filing cabinet. Although, I feel like TV Tropes has its place. Writers do draw upon collective understanding of cliches, having a comprehensive resource that puts a name to those cliches is useful. The real failure I feel is when a person begins to believe that tropes are bad and subversion is good without further analysis. Many works of art are created as direct responses to other works of art with an express intent to interrogate the ideas of whatever they are responding to, usually through forms of subversion.

I once had a fit over categorizing everything on my post about Millennial and Gen Z generations... but I would never diss cataloguing. I love cataloguing things, it's great when everything is systematic and organized like that. TV Tropes a buffet of information and perspectives. That show, film, video game, musical, etc. that you've long been a fan of? TV Tropes is likely to provide many moments that you never thought about before.


Here's a list of my favorite TV Tropes that either make me laugh or what I think is really cool or relatable:


Got this idea because I recently watched a YouTube vid- Turning TV Tropes Into Characters by The Drawfee Show. Love these people. They're so skilled. The way they comment on their drawings and do little bits and fixes to their design is really lovely to see.

~ your favorite movie-goer,

<3 K

#bears #film #media #movie #movies #oomfh #thoughts #tv #writing