my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

90. My brief stint with the tarot card reader

I'm convinced that someone put a hex on me and everyone associated with me lately... Some sketchy things have been happening and it's quite eventful. I'll talk about it later...


Often, a lot of unexplained things in the world are simply- unexplained, not magic. Magicians aren't actually doing real magic, just illusions of visions and distraction. I don't have a natural inclination towards the mystic arts. I would say I'm more of a science-y facts person, but it costs nothing to be just a tad bit superstitious. Basically, I wouldn't write off tarot cards as total BS (unless it's like, an actual scam where you lose all your money and everything). It's just for fun and it's more of a tool to look within yourself. My friends are more drawn to the spirituality and occult than me. I find it kind of interesting sometimes.

So anyway, in 2018 I went to a fortune teller with my friends (who are now health care professionals actually!) and it was an interesting experience. According to my friends, the fortune teller we went to is a young Polish lady full of bohemian wonder. She does readings for free (my friends assured me that she's the real deal).

Our fortune teller was "raised in a coven of witches and she frolicked around in the Polish countryside in the meadows naked with other women and learned how to be spiritual and witchy" - [paraphrased, this is meant in a non-sarcastic tone as well]. A good friend of mine had her tarot cards read before and was informed about her by another mutual friend who had hired the fortune teller to exorcise her whole house because it was literally haunted with the spirits of Nāga, the snake god. (I saw the videos of this strange monkey toy that kept going off in the middle of the staircase... I was a little spooked to say the least.)


We weren't allowed phones during our session. All five of us were huddled around a table and the fortune teller looked at all of us, one by one. When it came to me, it was my turn to break the deck and draw the cards. The fortune teller looked at me and asked what my inquiries were. I asked about my family, how my future career is going to go, my friendships, my romantic life, the works. Surprisingly, I was the only one in my friend group (besides my friend who is already in a committed relationship) who will apparently have a lover in the immediate future (After a couple months I got with my ex). I immediately cringed. I didn't want to be in a relationship so quickly... Crazy.

I wrote down everything that the tarot card reader had said to me in my notes app on my phone hahahahaha. As I reflected on this post, I was trying to glean information from this hastily written bullet point list I had 5 years ago. Unfortunately, I didn't remember what the cards were exactly (like the moon arcana, the lovers arcana, etc.).

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me


What to expect from a tarot card reader

To be honest, my familiarity with tarot cards are only about the confidants in Persona 5. I really had no idea what kind of mystical experience I was going to have when I was heading towards the psychic's office.

When you sit down in front of a tarot card fortune teller like I have, you can expect a number of cards to be drawn based on your question/topic/situation and the cards will bring you guidance, messages. However, these “answers” aren’t ones that you are responsible for. The reader will draw narratives and conclusions for you based on the cards you’ve chosen together.

You can choose to state your questions to the fortune teller directly or you can withhold that information. However, most tarot readers will prefer to understand an overall theme of what you'd like to discuss (topics include: love, career, family, etc.). If you’re looking for a more general reading, a tarot reader can work with that, too.

It’s important to note that this isn’t a prophetic process. It's mostly an exercise to look within yourself (at least that's how I viewed the experience as).

Here's a list of things that you'll probably get details about for the question that you're trying to answer:

The situation
Immediate challenge
Distant past
Recent past
Best outcome
Immediate future
Factors affecting the situation
External influences
Hopes and fears
Outcome

Tarot reading isn’t a science. It is simply just a personalized form of art, and a powerful way to get in touch with the path you want to take. Sometimes you get answers to questions about everything from love to family to your professional life. Who knows? Time to look inward.


~ fortunate misfortune today, <3

<3 K