my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

78. [Movie Review] Bottoms (2023) - I really value when people use violence for me, it's actually one of my love languages.

[Spoilers- if you're interested in watching this]

My sister didn't want to watch this movie with me so I'll be a little salty at her. I went by myself in the cinema instead. I really like watching a movie by myself. It's honestly one of the best activities to do alone. I watched a couple had a fight in front of me, a bunch of young girls giggling behind me. I love the cinema. I was incredibly tuned in the movie.


Cast

It is rare that a high school comedy invents its own stylish and idiosyncratic universe. It is literally a bloody, horny, and absurd teen comedy that's really sharply written and so campy. They made a big dumb movie filled with jokes to the brim. The tone is bonkers in a very wonderful way, like - I feel like you can compare Bottoms (2023) to the dumb teenage comedies of the early 2000's (I feel like they kind of referenced this because they really made a "Complicated" by Avril Lavigne needle drop in the middle of it). I guess I'm pretty glad that gay women can have their own middling Superbad movie.

The brutal physicality of the "girl fight club" renders phones, internet, and social media worthless in this film. I couldn't believe how aesthetic and pretty the costume design, the actors, the story. It's so fun. The dialogue is quick and witty, and although the movie completely relies on the the humor to carry it through, it's frenetic and everyone had great performances.

I am really pleased that a movie has finally captured the seminal "teen" experience of murdering an entire football team and getting away with it. I might note, not even "gay fight club" could outgay the regular Fight Club (1999). Also, I couldn't believe former Seattle Seahawks running back Marshawn Lynch was a scene-stealer. This is so fun.


~ eating food, digesting it, letting it marinate, pooping it out, (this is an actual quote from the movie by the way)

<3 K