my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

118. [Monthly Wrap-Up] Media Diary #8 - December 2023

I definitely did not have enough time to make this post on time. I'm literally writing this in the middle of January, but reformating the dates at a later time... heh.

My December was a lot more jam-packed than I expected. I lot less media intake this month in comparison to previous months. I'm trying to consume less and less and be more conscious about what I'm watching/reading/doing. I did watch a couple of movies in the cinema rather than a streaming platform at home. I think it's a lot more fun to watch it in a movie theater setting rather than in bed (alone).

Most of these TV shows/movies/games I did with friends and family! I am a little lazy on the links, so this is just a writing thing for now.

It's nice to experience things with people you really appreciate.


Table of Contents

β€ŽπŸŽ„ Films

β€ŽπŸŽ„ TV Series


1

Films πŸŽ₯

[9 total films]

7

  1. The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes (2023) β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…βœ¬ 4.5/5

I watched this with a friend. Honestly I loved it. They were going to give Corio a redemption arc in his backstory, but instead they gave him a twink death and an AK and let him go crazy.

--

13

  1. I Will Despise You (2020) β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜† 2/5

You can find it here: I Will Despise You

It's only 7 minutes long. It was really nice to see. They started out super cocky and then they get more honest and honest about how they are. The more honest they are, they turn into a ball of gummy and sticky vulnerability. It made me feel a bit sentimental.

--

18

  1. The Boy and the Heron (2023) β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…βœ¬ 4.5/5

I made a review about it here: [Movie Review] The Boy and the Heron (2023): How do you live?

--

25

  1. Kiki's Delivery Service (1989) β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 5/5

This is one of my favorite movies of all time. I had to give it a watch during Christmas.

  1. The Karate Kid (1989) β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜† 4/5

I rewatched this movie. Jaden Smith was so charming in cute in this film. His dedication to sport and fitness is super cool to watch. I shed tears.

--

26

  1. Made of Honor (2008) β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜† (3/5)

The main guy compared the main girl to a dog and throughout the whole movie, he tells different dogs that he loves them... omg

  1. Indecent Proposal (1993) β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜† (2/5)

The movie was basically about a straight couple who likes to think that the most exciting part of their relationship is monogamy. Also they have sex on a pile of money. Cool.

--

28

  1. Encanto (2021) β˜…β˜…β˜…βœ¬β˜† (3.5/5)

Is Mirabel's whole room the entire house because the casita listens to her all the time or-

  1. The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008) β˜…β˜…β˜…βœ¬β˜† (3.5/5)

I have watched this before. I think the conquistadors as the bad guys is a nice subtle touch.


#2

TV Series πŸ“Ί

[2 TV series total]

❀️ Can't Buy Me Love ❀️

I got really into a show called Can't Buy Me Love My cousin was laughing at me because I basically said: oh my god it's like Filipino Succession. It basically is, but it's super weird because the dad has so many kids and each kid has a different mom- but they all live together and know that?! Insane.

I'm loving it.

--

πŸ—½ Gossip Girl πŸ—½

I used to watch this as a teenager when it was still airing. I had to revisit it... They're so dramatic in this haha.


~ back to december,

<3 K