my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

60. [Monthly Wrap-Up] Media Diary #3 - July 2023

Media Diary #3 July: 2023

July is a good month for movies this year, but I actually didn't watch that many movies this month (in comparison to previous months!). To be honest, I haven't really felt that great lately. I kinda had to unplug for a little bit and feel bad about myself... It's totally normal. Life is a series of uphill and downhill roller coasters. Everything is a slow moving process and I just have to catch my breath for a while.

I've been playing a lot more games to take my mind of things. It kind works, but I've just been feeling more and more tired of this. There's some sense of accomplishment whenever I play a couple of games though. At least I feel better after that.

Me and my friends have been using a lot of "achievement based" and "streak-maintaining" apps to boost productivity. My silly little monkey brain has been feeling good about it. I know it's kind of a childish thing to be happy about growing little trees on your phone based on how much focus you've dedicated into certain tasks, but it keeps me sane.


Table of Contents

๐ŸŽ† Films

๐ŸŽ† TV Series

๐ŸŽ† Songs

๐ŸŽ† Books

๐ŸŽ† YouTube Videos

๐ŸŽ† Games


1

Films ๐ŸŽฅ

[9 total films]

  1. Girl, Interrupted Directed by James Mangold| โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 6/10 - watched 01 July 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: I watched this with my dad.. he basically said that this was like the yassification of Jack Nicholsonโ€™s One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest. Anyway, free my girl Angelina she ainโ€™t do nothing wrong ๐Ÿ˜ญ

--

  1. American Graffiti (1973) Directed by George Lucas| โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 5/10 - watched 03 June 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: All I did was watch teenagers drive around a long straight road, order Cherry cokes without drinking them, and holler at pretty blonde girls

--

  1. The Tunnel to Summer, the Exit of Goodbyes 'ๅคใธใฎใƒˆใƒณใƒใƒซใ€ใ•ใ‚ˆใชใ‚‰ใฎๅ‡บๅฃ' (2022) Directed by Tomohisa Taguchi | โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 6/10 - watched 06 July 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: Time traveling tunnel makes me feel some things

--

  1. Entergalactic (2022) Directed by Fletcher Moules | โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 6/10 - watched 10 July 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: The animation style was beautiful but the story is just kinda eh

--

  1. Pride and Prejudice (2005) Directed by Foe Wright | โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 9/10 - watched 09 July 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: what a man walking through the foggy and grassy knoll with a white shirt unbuttoned at the top does to a mf

--

  1. The Thing About Harry (2020) | Directed by Peter Paige | โ˜…โ˜… 2/10 - watched 11 July 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: this is himbo representation

--

  1. Kick-Ass (2010) | Directed by Matthew Vaughn | โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 7/10 - watched 13 July 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: They donโ€™t make em like this anymore

--

  1. Kick-Ass 2 (2013) | Directed by Jeff Wadlow | โ˜…โ˜… 2/10 - watched 14 July 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: This movie was so sick, vile, and ridiculous I guess not every sequel can hit as hard as Shrek 2

--

  1. Barbie (2023) |Directed by Greta Gerwig | โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 7/10 - watched 28 July 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: Barbie gave me major tonal whiplash but like, I had fun lmfao


2

TV Series ๐Ÿ“บ

[2 TV series total]

๐Ÿ‘” 1. Suits ๐Ÿ‘”

I like it because it's a scrappy underdog clever guy who is down on his luck, trying to make it big in the lawyer scene in NYC. Also Harvey Spectre is so fine. Suspend your disbelief this is literally not what happens when you're an attorney. I'm still on season 1!

๐Ÿ—ฏ๏ธ 2. Insecure ๐Ÿ—ฏ๏ธ

I used to watch the YouTube series, "The Misadventures of AWKWARD Black Girl" by Issa Rae way back when. I didn't understand all of the cultural references when I was a young teen and I still had to experience what a lot of the characters were going through (new sexual experiences, a mundane job, toxic people to the extreme). Insecure is basically a rehash of "Awkward Black Girl", (because Issa Rae is leading this project as well) but with a bigger budget, better characters, more dramatic storylines. It was intense. I'm on season 2 now.

๐Ÿ’‹ 3. Sex and the City ๐Ÿ’‹

I wrote about this in a blog post. That's the impact it has on my little mind......


3

Songs ๐ŸŽต

(I will list the language of each of these songs for easier browsing, if no language, then it is instrumental)

  1. ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ท Super Shy - NewJeans | (2023) NewJeans 'Super Shy'
  2. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง Bluffin' - Hojean | (2022) Swing
  3. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง Dancing with my phone- HYBS | (2022) Making Steak
  4. ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ท BIBI(๋น„๋น„) - PADO | (2021) PADO
  5. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง Yellow Cab - DPR | (2021) Yellow Cab
  6. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง Seven (feat. Latto)- Jung Kook ์ •๊ตญ | (2023) Seven (feat. Latto)
  7. ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ El Chico Del Apartamento 512 - Selena | (1994) Amor Prohibido
  8. May 19- lvusm | (2020) Things I Haven't Put on Spotify
  9. ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ Cรกllame - Bandalos Chinos | (2022) El Big Blue
  10. ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ Junio - Maluma | (2022) Junio
  11. NIGHTS- Masayoshi Takanaka | (1978) BRASILIAN SKIES
  12. Coral Reef - Shigeru Suzuki | (1978) Pacific
  13. ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท Lanรงa Perfume - Rita Lee | (1980) Rita Lee
  14. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง Open Wide - Spencer. | (2018) VISCERAL LOVE
  15. ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท Un Deux Trois - MUNYA | (2023) Hi Hello/Un Deux Trois

4

Books ๐Ÿ“š

  1. Frommer's 500 Places to See Before They Disappear by Holly Hughes and Julie Duchaine

I thought this book was pretty nice. It was written in 2011 so I am uncertain which places hold up. Some of the places I've been before. It is very American and Euro centric, which I don't think is a bad thing. I think there are some Pacific islands that need a little bit less tourists in them because some people are really detrimental to the environment...


5

YouTube Videos ๐Ÿ“น

  1. Ratatousical!!! by Nomi Brooklyn

This is Ratatouille, a TikTok Musical. I thought it was very cool how people can come together and make a project like this during the pandemic.

  1. Boyfriend Material | UCLA Animation Workshop 2023 by Bridgette Baron

She does a wonderful job in all the art and character design. I had a pleasant time watching this animation.

  1. Challenge from Japan, Yamato Spirit of Avantgardey in sailor suit | AGT 2023

Avantgardey is a dance group from Japan and I think they are the greatest thing ever.

  1. when the director is obsessed with obsession by Scene It

Movies like Whiplash and Black Swan are super cool to me.


6

Games ๐ŸŽฎ

  1. Factorio

It looks like such a dull game, but it is literally crack. I am obsessed with this game. I have a to-do list with my friends and we play it almost every night when we're all on.

Basically, the game lets you be some kind of scientist/engineer/explorer on a planet. We crash landed on some desert planet and we have to exploit its resources and anger the local population by doing so because we produce so much pollution and ruin its ecosystem. We kill of its local inhabitant for the pursuit of human knowledge and scientific endeavors.

  1. Persona 4

I'm playing this by myself. It's a single-player game but a lot of friends and family watch it when I'm playing alone. I played all of Persona 5 already so I know the game mechanics. I am so impressed with this game. It's made in 2008 but it's really cool and innovative. I've only completed finished the first dungeon.


Things I want to start/continue:

  1. Finish editing videos
  2. Finish all of the games and TV shows I've started.
  3. Listen to more podcasts and books.
  4. Try challenging myself in the movies I've watched (be a bit more adventurous with my picks)
  5. Stay organized and focused with Notion and Forest apps.
  6. Keep my Duolingo streak and be more concentrated in my language learning.

~ why julying?,

<3 K

#july #july 2023 #media #media diary #month #monthly wrap up