my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

25. [Monthly Wrap-Up] Media Diary #1 - May 2023

The exercise of keeping track of my media consumption was very interesting and eye-opening to me. I got the inspiration of doing this "media diary" post from a new pal of mine, Mei, who did her own media diary. (Please check out her blog, she writes so beautifully!) I absolutely loved the concept and wanted to make my own version. However, I want to try to make it into a monthly thing so I can think of all of the films, tv shows, music, and other games that I've been investing my time in and just keep track of what I'm actually doing ha.

I'm more of a movie watcher than a TV series watcher. Although TV shows give the cast way more time for character development, I enjoy watching a story all in one sitting. You can follow my Letterboxd account if you're super curious! You can view my silly brief reviews (they're not super serious at all) and laugh with me. I think if a movie really got my gears turning or truly moved me- I have a lot to say about it. So I'll write about it on the blog. I absolutely love movies.

Anyway, let's return to the topic of TV shows- to be honest, the last two programs that I watched live were RuPaul's Drag Race season 15 (Go Sasha and Anetra!) and the one before that was Euphoria season 2 (Yikes.). I prefer watching something that has an ending, so I automatically go for shows that have already completed seasons.

I get so upset when shows cancel due to "dwindling viewership" or "not enough budget" or something along those lines.

Examples include:

I've watched some shows that are only 2 seasons (Au Service de la France/A Very Secret Service, 2015-2018). Ok yes, they get their ending, but sweetie... I want more.

I decided to dip my toes in again and hopefully not to get cheated by television production... So recently, I started two TV shows- Ugly Betty and The Wire. People have said that these series are from "The Golden Age of Television" (The Wire is probably the most known, then Breaking Bad). I'm keeping track of the season 1 episodes in a table for each of these series.

I've been trying to read a little bit more and organize my Spotify playlists more. They are also provided below.


Media Diary #1: May 2023

Table of Contents

๐ŸŒผ Films

๐ŸŒผ TV Series

๐ŸŒผ Songs

๐ŸŒผ Books

๐ŸŒผ YouTube Videos

๐ŸŒผ Podcasts

๐ŸŒผ Games


1

Films ๐ŸŽฅ

[8 total films]

  1. Underworld (2003) Directed by Len Wiseman | โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 5/10 - watched 01 May 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: Emo Matrix but we team Jacob up in this bitch.

Vibes: ๐Ÿ˜ˆ๐Ÿ’€๐Ÿง›โ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿฉธ๐Ÿท๐Ÿบโš”๏ธdark fantasy, action, horror, gothic, vampires, werewolves, cyberpunk, leather

--

  1. Coach Carter (2005) Directed by Thomas Carter | โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 6/10 - watched 02 May 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: ๐Ÿ˜ญ when channing tatum said: I'll do push-ups for him. You said we're a team. One person struggles we all struggle one person triumphs we all triumph, ๐Ÿ˜ฉ right?

Vibes: ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ“ข๐Ÿšจ๐Ÿ’ฅ๐Ÿคพโ€โ™‚๏ธโ›น๏ธโ€โ™€๏ธ sports, basketball, heart-warming, action, young-adult, coming of age, life lessons

--

  1. Steel Magnolias (1989) Directed by Herbert Ross | โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 9/10 - watched 06 May 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: There is such a warmth to this movie that I absolutely love... even in the tragic heavy moments I feel the compassion and the love. Such a brilliant film. See my long-written review Steel Magnolias (1989)- If you can't say anything nice about anybody, come sit by me! for more info.

Vibes: ๐Ÿงƒ๐Ÿ—จ๏ธ๐Ÿ’๐ŸŒผ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ˜ขโšฐ๏ธ๐Ÿ˜ญ tear-jerker, women, feminism, southern belle, american, family, friendship

--

  1. The Mother (2023) Directed by Niki Caro | โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 6/10 - watched 14 May 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: I liked the part where JLo mothered all over the place

Vibes: ๐Ÿ”๏ธ๐Ÿ”ซ๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿƒโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ง๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ’ฃ๐Ÿ”ช action, violence, cia, women, feminism, mother, secrecy, war, explosions, sniper rifle, family

--

  1. Mulholland Drive (2001) Directed by David Lynch | โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 8/10 - watched 24 May 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: what if we were multi-lingual ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท bisexual queens sitting in club silencio ๐ŸŽบ holding hands and kissed topless ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ’‹โ€๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿ‘ญ while ominous music plays in the background ๐Ÿคจ๐Ÿคญ๐Ÿ’…. See my long-written review Mulholland Drive (2001)- No hay banda for more info.

Vibes: ๐Ÿคฉ๐ŸŒƒโœจ๐Ÿ”ซ๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿƒ๐ŸŽบ๐Ÿ”‘โค๏ธโ˜•๐Ÿ›Œ mystery, dark, suspenseful, confusing, psychological, thriller, creepy, scary, wlw, women, hollywood, los angeles, america

--

  1. American Psycho (2000) Directed by Mary Harron| โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 6/10 - watched 27 May 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: When Patrick Bateman was telling us his morning routineโ€ฆ wow.. the beauty guru jumped out.

Vibes: ๐Ÿ”ซ๐Ÿ’ผ๐Ÿ’ต๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿ”ช๐Ÿฉธ๐ŸŽถ๐Ÿ‘” action, violence, cia, women, feminism, mother, secrecy, war, explosions, sniper rifle, family

--

  1. Bad Genius (โ€˜เธ‰เธฅเธฒเธ”เน€เธเธกเธชเนŒเน‚เธเธ‡โ€™) (2017) Directed by Nattawut Poonpiriya| โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 7/10 - watched 27 May 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: All that time they could have just ๐Ÿ˜ญ studied lmfaoooo

Vibes: ๐Ÿ“–โœ๏ธโœ๏ธ๐Ÿ’ผ๐Ÿซโš ๏ธ๐ŸŽน๐Ÿ˜ฑ thriller, drama, school, thailand, exam, dramatic, heist

  1. You've Got Mail (1998) Directed by Nora Ephron| โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜…โ˜… 7/10 - watched 31 May 2023 |

Letterboxd Review: Imagine a modern version of this movie where two people join some kind of booktok discord server and it's a whole enemies to lovers story where the guy cyberstalks her instagram and then tries to meet up with her in her city and she eventually relents and they start dating oh wow imagine.

Jokes aside, I actually really enjoyed this movie lmfao

Vibes: ๐Ÿ“–๐Ÿ’ป๐Ÿ“ง๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ’Œโค๏ธ๐ŸŒผโค๏ธ romance, romantic comedy, 90's, new york city, anti-capitalism, wholesome, crying, e-dating


2

TV Series ๐Ÿ“บ

[2 TV series total]

1. Ugly Betty

I started watching "Ugly Betty" (2006-2010) - I've watched this when it was airing, but I actually only remember the first season. I don't exactly recall what happened while it was still popular. I narrowly dodged the spoilers and I'm back on the Ugly Betty train.

The first couple episodes of Season 1 got me so hooked. I never actually found Betty to be all that "ugly", especially considering that America Ferrera is gorgeous in real life. Still, she was probably meant to be plain in comparison to the glamorous people at Mode. (if I'm a fiend for Ugly Betty content, I might watch the original series, "Yo soy Betty, la fea", which is a Colombian telenovela. I've been trying to find the English subtitles, but I can make do with the Spanish subtitles. I just need subtitles period!).

I never realize how campy and witty this series is. Now that my prefrontal cortex has finished developing, I understand a lot of the zingers they pull in their script. All the characters start off as pretty "one-note" and uncomplicated. But overtime, things start to unfold and the people are faced with a lot of the consequences of their actions.

The world of fashion in the Ugly Betty universe is kind of naive and fairytale-esque, but it's genuinely inviting and riveting. Without its visual flair and rapid-fire conversations, it wouldn't stand well on its own. There are some big problematic things that happened in the series though (the problematic transgender character arc and how they make jokes about 'chubby' people... I guess it's the 2000's...)

Episode Date watched Rating My one sentence thought
S1E1 Pilot 09 May 2023 โญโญโญโญโญ Why did she wear that damn poncho omg
S1E2 The Box and the Bunny 09 May 2023 โญโญโญ That actress isn't even fat
S1E3 Queens for a Day 10 May 2023 โญโญโญโญ Added 1 star because the actor for the photographer guy is hot
S1E4 Fey's Sleigh Ride 10 May 2023 โญโญโญ Amanda, Mark, Betty = chaos trio

--

2. The Wire

The second show I'm watching (with my brother) is "The Wire" (2002-2008). We're both pretty hooked on the show. We watched our dad finish this series when it was airing, but we couldn't understand it at all during the time. Now that we're adults, I think that we could grasp some of the story a bit more.

My brother is more serious and gets a little annoyed with me if I ask him stupid questions during the show, as if I didn't see that with my own eyes (sometimes I check my phone, I'm guilty of that). I was laughing today because I saw one of the characters typing on a typewriter and my brother just sighed, "Remember it's 2002". Whenever there's an unnecessary sex scene, we both say, "This is integral to the plot" and wait for it to pass lmao.

The dialogue in this show is actually so cerebral. Wow. You have to pay attention. What they say is a lot of code-switching. It's so clever. They way the characters speak is so rhythmic and cool. Every character there is some kind of scumbag, but you sympathize with them. The way the pilot introduces you into its world with McNulty quizzing the young neighborhood kid with the crime scene right in front of them, you are faced with the common expectations. This world has a specific set of rules and the characters have a certain pattern of speech that immediately draws you in.

Episode Date watched Rating My one sentence thought
S1E1 The Target 09 May 2023 โญโญโญโญโญ Wow everyone hates McNulty
S1E2 The Detail 11 May 2023 โญโญโญโญ AHHH Barksdale's crew is INSANE
S1E3 The Buys 12 May 2023 โญโญโญโญโญ That chess scene is SO good, the layers and layers of symbolism and foreshadowing
S1E4 Old Cases 12 May 2023 โญโญโญโญโญ The crime scene with McNulty and Bunk literally no conversation exchanged, just a series of "fucks" and frustration- perfect
S1E5 The Pager 15 May 2023 โญโญโญโญโญ I'm so scared of Omar oh my god

3

Songs ๐ŸŽต

(I will list the language of each of these songs for easier browsing, if no language, then it is instrumental)

  1. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody) - Talking Heads | (1983) Speaking in Tongues
  2. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง I Saw the Light - Todd Rundgren | (1972) Something/Anything?
  3. ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ท Ditto - NewJeans | (2022) NewJeans 1st EP
  4. ๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต ๆ€ช็‰ฉ (Kaibutsu) - YOASOBI | (2021) THE BOOK 2
  5. ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ POCA FE - Cami | (2022) ANASTASIA
  6. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง Misery Moon - Luna Li | (2022) Duality
  7. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง Slow Dances - Winnetka Bowling League | (2019) Slow Dances
  8. ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ท PUSH & PULL (JIHYO, SANA, DAHYUN) - TWICE | (2021) Formula of Love: O+T=<3
  9. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง From The Start - Laufey | (2023) From The Start
  10. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง I Think I Left the Stove On - Hotel Ugly | (2022) I Think I Left the Stove On
  11. ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ La Ciruela - Nico Play | (2022)
  12. ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ท Kiss Kiss - SHINee | (2021) Don't Call Me - The 7th Album
  13. ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ Tu Falta De Querer - Mon Laferte | (2015) Mon Laferte Vol. 1
  14. TUTUTUTU - NUEKI, TOLCHONOV, GREEN ORXNGE | (2023) TUTUTUTU
  15. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง Maybe Baby - maye | (2022) Maybe Baby

4

Books ๐Ÿ“š

  1. My Index of Slightly Horrifying Knowledge - Poems by Paul Guest

The author of this poem book was paralyzed since he was 12 year old from a bike accident and through his poetry he seems like he's both laughing and spitting fire at the situation he's in. I'm not a very patient poetry reader because I get bored if the poems are too esoteric, but I like this guy. He writes like he has a stick in his mouth. I understand the frustration, the anger, the sexual longing that we expect from someone whose physical abilities are limited. The dude is literally a paraplegic lol he writes so candidly and wonderfully.

  1. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

I wanted to read this book before I watched the period film. I heard that it was a really good movie, but I really wanted to read from the source literature first. It's a long book, so I've been taking breaks from it. So far, my thoughts about it are- Real Housewives of St. Petersburg ะกะฐะฝะบั‚-ะŸะตั‚ะตั€ะฑัƒั€ะณ vibes.


5

YouTube Videos ๐Ÿ“น

  1. HANJUKUTAMAGOTCHI soft boiled egg / GALisMINDใ€Official Music Video by egg Channel

I absolutely love the "gyaru" girl trend in Japan. They are such a niche sub-group of hipsters in Japan. The gyaru girl is elusive, nobody really likes to associate with them since they are so different from the rest of the population. They're the trendsetters and the coolest girls I have ever seen. I remember seeing them when I went to Harajuku and it was one of the most fun experiences I have ever seen. Their fashion is so cool. I like this group in particular- I think their rap flow is fire.

  1. why jubilee is like p*rn by Alice Cappelle

I have been trying to search for the words about how I feel about these "Middleground" Jubliee videos I keep seeing on my suggested list on my YouTube homepage. Alice Cappelle eloquently speaks about what I truly think about these ridiculous videos. My opinion is this: I dislike how Jubilee portrays each side of the argument as equal when one side is literally denying certain groups basic rights or is just straight up hateful.

  1. For those waiting for life to happen by Life of Riza

This video was so lovely, concise, uplifting. I'm currently at that stage of my life, questioning the purpose of my existence and pondering why I am here. The repetitive routine that has become my norm has left me longing for something different that breaks free from this monotony. I have reached a point where I feel somewhat numb, unable to comprehend why I continue to engage in these repetitive actions. I crave change. In an attempt to evoke emotions within myself, I have turned to movies and books, immersing myself in the lives of fictional characters in hopes of finding meaning in my own life.

  1. Projecting hard boulders by Sofya Yokoyama

Sofya Yokoyama is one of the best Swiss boulderers I have ever seen. I absolutely love bouldering. Watching her move inspires me. I've been projecting a lot of V4's and V5's now! It's such a big accomplishment since I've started taking climbing seriously roughly 3 years ago. Sofya does the moves many many times and practices each route and it's so amazing to see her practice and work on different moves.

  1. Aquatic Affection: How a Scuba Diver Found a Good Friend Under the Sea by Great Big Story

I hate how everyone was like: this is a studio ghibli or pixar movie waiting to happen ๐Ÿ˜ .... No! stfu! pls! Just let people enjoy this little cute anecdote. (I mean, if it does get made into a heartwarming movie then I will absolutely watch it but, come on. not everything needs to be commodified.)


6

Podcasts ๐ŸŽง

  1. 295. Not That Kind of Story with Rachel Bloom by Off Book

I absolutely adore the podcast, Off Book: The Improvised Musical by Jessica McKenna and Zach Reino. Each episode, Jessica McKenna, Zach Reino and a special guest create a new musical on the spot. Accompanied by Scott Passarella, King of Pianists, Pianist of Kings. First the start out with a dialogue with their special guest, and then break into song. These people are the most amazing and talented improv artists I have ever heard. I highly recommend this podcast if you like to hear some silly clever lines sung musically.

  1. EP 40// DUA LIPA by Are We On Air?

Are We On Air? by Arman Nafรฉei is a podcast that explores the life soundtracks of global culture figures within the musical, film, art, and fashion industries. This is such a nice interview series. One I highly recommend is the Dua Lipa episode where you can hear a lot of her influences and a different personal side of her that not many people can really see. I love how the host guides them through his questions and brings out another side of his guests and how he shines a light on them to make them truly remarkable.

  1. Your Weirdest Dates by Modern Love by The New York Times

My inner hopeless romantic in me loves listening to the Modern Love podcast. NYT gives an glimpse into the complicated love lives of people all over the world. It's actually super interesting and the storytelling is phenomenal. This is one of my favorite episodes and I find myself listening to it often.

  1. Life Cycle of a Language with Daniel W. Hieber by Think Queen by Kyne

Kyne is a Canadian drag queen best known for competing in the first season of Canada's Drag Race. I liked her a lot while I was watching the show! I found her instagram reels of her doing math really fun and I was so drawn in. Her STEM podcast is amazing and she discusses a lot of feelings and conversation around science, tech, and math. This is one of my favorite episodes.


7

Games ๐ŸŽฎ

  1. GeoGuessr

I am still obsessed with guessing Google Street View and photospheres. So obsessed, that I wrote a GeoGuessr post!

  1. The Beginner's Guide

My brother let me and my sister play this game called "The Beginner's Guide" and it was honestly such a wild ride. I was kind of lost the entire time, but I ate it all up. My siblings and I tried to debate our interpretations and analyses of this game. It's actually kinda mad.

  1. Danger the Game

This is actually not a computer game, but a card game. I bought this recently for me and my siblings. It's sort of like a discussion-based/roleplaying game where creativity is the main skill of the game.


Things I want to start:

  1. My friends have inspired me to make a Letterboxd list for the Foreign Film Challenge.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

I will probably not watch a foreign movie every day in June, but I like making lists and I'm a little competitive. Here's my challenge list!

  1. Getting more serious with my foreign language learning. I think I have an okay (not super great, but I can pick up the vibe) understanding of the target languages I'm doing. I've actually been sentence mining and transcript listening for French and Japanese. I use a lot of my friend's movie reviews as a resource to read actual conversations (they are kind enough to translate their reviews into English!) Also- I've asked my mom a lot of things with our native dialect and working on trying to wet my feet with that :)

  2. I was motivated by Mei and also took inspiration from anhvn's media diary. I'm thinking of reformatting a little and making it really visual like that diary! It's so cute.

Thanks for tuning into my media diary guide! I hope to make this into a big end of the month post from here on out! ๐Ÿ˜„

~ may i help you, ma'am?,

<3 K

#diary #fun #life #may2023 #media #media diary #month #personal #wrap-up