my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

131. Losing my 310 day Duolingo streak

Ok, I really am devastated by this loss. I could not believe I didn’t do my streak. I was terribly busy.

Oh well, I was going to make a Duolingo birthday cake for myself next month, but I totally dropped the ball. I’ll probably still make a cake, but not a green matcha owl version that I had originally planned. I was 55 days away from my Duolingo streak birthday and I was more excited for that than my actual birthday that actually falls right after my streak birthday…

I remember reading a post by Cornelius a while back. I am feeling all the feels. The thoughts shared in that post is what I am experiencing too. No need to re-invent the wheel by making another review about Duolingo on Bear. This is already very well-said and I agree.

I just wanted to say how sad I am that I lost my streak. It’s okay. I think I’m going to still continue doing it anyway. My French and Japanese (I’m not purely using Duolingo) have been improving anyway.

I told a couple of my friends about this. They were sympathetic, but who really mourns the loss of a language game streak- like come on? (Me, I was sad for a good 20 minutes before typing this all out hahahaha)

I’ll be fine. Thought I should just share my feelings about this green wretched owl.

One of my favorite things about Duolingo is the deep character lore that they implemented for the app. All characters and spoilers can be found here from the TV tropes website. The lore is so deep and rich and I enjoy it every time.

Although it's very interesting that there is lore, there's no way to gather it without completing the course in every language. Different languages have different sentences so they have different pieces of lore (based on learning French and German). I'm also not sure if the lore is the same and consistent over the different languages, to be honest. Can someone please confirm that for me?


~ a duolingho,

<3 K