my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

37. Korean adaptations of English-speaking musicals are so cool

The Korean entertainment industry have been so successful this past few decades. From Kpop idols to Palme d'Or at Cannes film festival winners- they're just phenomenal in all fields. It's crazy they've got a completely chokehold on Western audiences. I think it's very impressive. The fact that South Korean companies are translating the most popular English-speaking musicals in the West into Korean- it's just so cool to me.

I am not very good at singing or acting at all, so I wasn't really a theater kid (although I was part of designing some of the sets in middle school and high school plays!), but I did adore some of the musicals growing up.

Here's some of my few favorites that I've watched on YouTube-

  1. SIX the Musical ([4K] MegaSix - KOREAN CAST PREMIERE! 230331)

  2. Wicked ([위키드] 정선아, 차지연-Popular Jeong Sunah WICKED Popular)

  3. Chicago (2021 '시카고' 프레스콜 We Both Reached For the Gun 민경아 최재림 )

  4. Les Miserables (Les Miserables - One Day More (Korean Ver.) (Jun 3, 2013))

  5. Hairspray ('배우의꿈' 뮤지컬 헤어스프레이 musical hairspray full version! ! 2016년 8월 26일 국립극장 공연실황)

  6. Grease ("You're the one that I want" Grease Korean cast 2005)

  7. West Side Story ([22웨스트사이드스토리] 하이라이트 CLIP - MAMBO)

  8. Hamilton (더뮤페 정원영 - Alenxander Hamilton (Musical Hamilton) Kor ver. 20170910)

  9. Mamma Mia (160223 Seohyun - Mamma Mia! Musical Press Rehearsal by playdb)

  10. Rent (musical Rent Korean ver. Out tonight)


~ a kpop aficionado,

<3 K