my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

85. Intermittently, every person has been a hater.

I was messaging my friend the other day about how I had to backtrack what I said about some Instagram model's body. I mean, all of social media is a very manufactured online space, but I just felt like I had to justified my unruly hatred for something that was already a hand-fed lie to me anyway.

"I was just a hater when I told you that her body was weird. She's just... beautiful holy wow"

"Hating is like shitting. You just gotta do it."


Intermittently, every person has been a hater. Hating’s just a natural occurrence and getting through it shows maturity and how well you’ve evolved as a person. On the outside, being a hater seems to be like the worst thing ever. Don't hate. People hate grumpiness. People hate irritating annoying behavior and complaints. God, I hate it when people complain often.

The best standup comedians understand this, practice it, and create an entire art form out of it, so we can listen to their rants and feel less alone with our hatred. It's literally something along the lines of "recreational hate," and we all exercise it. You're not convinced? We sometimes hate-watch a terrible film just to roll our eyes at the cheesy dialogue and dissect everything wrong or mediocre.

I want to hate on things.

One of the things I absolutely loved growing up is Twilight. I still love it. But everyone LOVED to hate it. Every boy I knew at the time resented this fantastic piece of literature. But honestly, is it really that terrible? Is the Twilight series ... BAD? I disagree.

A positive thinker would argue: Why do you waste your time watching things you hate? Why don’t you dedicate your life to the profession of flower-smelling and the rest of the things you enjoy? In fact, it seems that our modern society is obsessed with positive thinking, affirmations, and self-assurance, all of which end up drifting into complacency.

Listen -- Don't be complacent. I've been carefully trying to own my feelings and putting a label on things and how I feel about them. There’s a strange pleasure in being honest about all the things you hate, and not only that, being conscious about your hate can help you cope with the small yet annoying things we meet in everyday life. A hater can hate all they want, but with justifiable reason...? Being a hater is so fun. That's genius. What's that weird viral song?

"I love the way it feels to be a hater- something so sweet about thinking that I'm better."


Here's a list of songs I absolutely hate.... If you invite me to a party and one of these songs play, I will walk out of the room. Enjoy.

  1. Dance Monkey by Tones and I (annoying)
  2. Astronaut in the Ocean by Masked Wolf (annoying)
  3. Grandma Got Run over by a Reindeer by Elmo & Patsy (annoying)
  4. Turning Japanese by The Vapors (sort of racist and annoying)
  5. Paris by the Chainsmokers (annoying and played too much when I was in uni)
  6. 7 Years by Lukas Graham (tired and overplayed when I was in high school)
  7. Help! by The Beatles (I just hate it)
  8. Sneakers by ITZY (annoying and kinda repetitive)
  9. Permission to Dance by BTS (I like BTS, but I can't stand this A-track tbh)
  10. Diamonds by Lil Xan (annoying)

Being a hater is all about recognizing that the world sucks most of the time, pointing it out, and either accepting that there are forces that you simply cannot control or searching for a way to solve the situation you hate. Enjoying life to its fullest means appreciating and recognizing all of it, not only the flowery parts.


~ a hater part 2,

<3 K