my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

34. Making my home like an inn

I’ve been used to people coming in and out of my house like it's a darling little inn or a comfy hostel for vagabond travelers. I lived in a nice large one-story house with white columns in the inside. It was very open, with large windows and sunlight shining through at all times. Most of the time, relatives and family friends fill the home with home-cooked meals, laughter, and general buzz. We would have really big parties with my parents' friends when I was a kid. As I got older, I had some get-togethers with my friends and it was a good time. My house was kind of like the hub for the small outings since it was the meeting point for a lot of my high school and university friends. It was super lively, even at the start of the pandemic.

I moved out when I went to grad school. I loved that independent feeling, but was constantly feeling lonely. I actually learned to be quite independent growing up- my parents kind of instilled that in me. I didn't realize that I'd miss the feeling of home so much. I realized in grad school, making friends is easy enough, but people come and go so often that you cant get too attached, even when you really want to.

I've come back to live with my family for a little bit, but we're not at my childhood home. We're comfy-cozy in a much smaller place currently. I like it a lot. I'm reluctant to go... I feel really bad for feeling comfortable here back with my family, but I should go and make a nest somewhere for myself.

It really felt like a "sitcom" kind of situation when my sister's friends starting rolling in today. I was in the kitchen eating leftovers and typing away on my computer until I hear knocks on the door.

"Hey your sister invited us!" a couple of cheerful teenagers were at the door and I let them in. My sister was busy doing something in her room and her friends made themselves at home. It was kind of amusing to see. My mom rolled her eyes and served them all chips and things. She didn't realize that they were coming over and was little annoyed (my brother and I weren't aware either!!). but she turned on the hostess switch as soon as the kids were sitting down on our couch. Right now, they're playing Oculus video games on our TV. Honestly, it was kinda wholesome to see this welcoming convivial vibe fill my home again. My mom and I made a big hearty soup for everyone. Here's some photos!

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

This is from the blog post: caldo de res recipe

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Successful transplant (I just moved the basil plants into the big pot!).


I think when I have my own place, I want to make my own hostel kind of deal where I can have people I love and trust go in and out with their wacky hobbies and adventures. I want to have Bilbo Baggins vibes where all of these people start arriving at his place and it's a nice good time.


~ the hostess with the mostest,

<3 K