my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

58. [OOMFH] Gardening: Grew some tiny vegetables

I remember when I was living with some roommates, for 3 months I was the sole caregiver of our lonely poinsettia plant that my roommate got for Christmas (it died when the summer heat hit). Okay, I didn't think of myself as a true gardener (well, until recently). I don't have a large assortment of plants, just my basil plant, but I care for it as if it were my human child.

When I moved back home with my parents, I thought I would help my mom and sister with their potted plants. My sister is really into her gardening club at school and my mom grew up on a farm, so they were really passionate about this. I, on the other hand, didn’t really know much about this at all. When we were in the old house, we had a giant garden in the back, but we were never really into growing things outside (due to the scorching hot climate). Now that we’re in a new place with better soil and conditions to garden, my sister and mom were all for it.

Around March of this year, I bought my first pack of seeds with my sister. I’ve purchased seeds before, but this time it’s serious. I was actually interested in doing some actual farm-to-table things. So I got a couple of basil seeds and dreamed about making all these Italian dishes when the basil is ready to harvest.

The problem is, it took such a lot time to get anything to sprout. When the spring heat came after the winter weather, I was ecstatic. I thought I would share some photos.


my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

This is my basil plant. I am very proud of him. I'm about to prune.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Basil plant, a bit naked. If you cut the leaves regularly, they'll grow more.


Today, I didn't have a lot of vegetables in the refrigerator while my family was out of town for a moment and I was house-sitting and didn't want to go to the market. I opted for my very cheap and easy to make farm-to-table meal, spaghetti.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Here's a photo of the haul I have. My basil on the left and a tiny onion on the right. Did not grow the garlic. We always have a surplus of garlic in our place at all times.

My mother planted half of an onion next to the basil plant, so I just picked a portion of it and used it for my dinner today.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

The tiny onion in my hand for scale. I think I picked him prematurely, but I think it is okay. I washed the onion and sliced it up.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Here's the finished product. I added some chicken with the red sauce. It was half farm-to-table. Tried my best! I had some green tea with my meal as well.


~ a stardew valley, harvest moon, and farmville player,

<3 K my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

#farm to table #garden #gardening #hobbies #life #oomfh #personal #plants #thoughts