my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

110. Friday found me wined and dined on a friend date

This is a continued story from the Crazy people, crazy stories - a week of meeting colorful characters post.


Friday

I had forgotten that I made some connections on a dating app a couple months ago since I had quickly deleted it. Apparently, I made friends with this girl and she immediately followed me on my Instagram meme account (lol). She wanted to meet up with me for lunch. I accepted.

We had been chatting on WhatsApp for a couple of months now and to be honest, I had completely forgotten the origins of our encounter until today. She and her husband are polyamorous and was seeking out new connections with people. I had completely forgotten about this since we just chat on Whatsapp. I thought she just wanted to be friends and hang out, just the two of us. Maybe I was just a little bit slow and didn't realize the flirty responses towards me over text were just warming me up for our initial meeting with her husband. I was thinking that I made a new friend and she really appreciated my memes. It looks like I'm having a lunch date with both of them. Honestly, I was looking forward to it. In my opinion, the thought of being wined and dined by a rich Singaporean poly couple isn't too bad at the moment.

I decided that I needed to be clear with my communication to them if the connection with this married couple was going to "go up another level." I think I have to break the news that I wasn't in the right headspace to be part of their trouple until they make it immediately clear that they really want me to join them. For now, it's just initial flirty vibes and I don't have to make things awkward or stressful at the very start.

I had to fix something that was wrong with my phone at the mall before I met up with them. I was running just a touch late at the cellphone shop and texted them half an hour before our lunch "date". They had a car and insisted to pick me up.

--

The husband was searching around for me at the entrance of the shopping center. I was greeted by a guy with a white collared shirt, khakis, and a kinda posh British accent. He seemed a bit stuffy at first- he took off his Ray-bans and had a custom lace handkerchief ready at hand to wipe them clean. He greeted me very inquisitively, but warmly gave me a great big bear hug. He had never seen me or heard me before. I only ever chatted with his wife and never talked to him until now. Although, I think I knew him fairly well. His wife would always say "we" did this, "we" went here, and constantly referred to herself as a collective unit alongside her partner.

I was cheerily greeted by his other half when he chivalrously opened the car door for me. We stopped at this really stylish Portuguese bakery down the road. I was feeling peckish and ordered a pastel de nata and a latte for myself. I was at the cash register with the husband and needed assert that it wasn't solely a "romantic date." He was a bit surprised (and maybe a bit annoyed at me I think) splitting the bill for some reason, but waved off the confusion after a couple of minutes.  We shared a bread basket with an assortment of sauces together.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

While we sat down with our bread order, the couple's interview started. The two of them actually were asking me some personal questions about my sexuality and I felt both seduced, but also shit talked at the same time (I mean this in a lighthearted, funny way). I tried to be as charming as possible and we all shared travel stories in different countries. I told them about random dates I've been on or hostels I've visited. I literally saw them grimace when I mentioned the word, "pub," and how much I enjoyed craft beers, but were pretty curious about my experiences. They explained to me that they were more "homebodies" and preferred a fancy wine night in their lovely home. I think they're super good-looking and well put-together. Maybe I was too "provincial" for them.

I anticipated the date questions because they had this "libidinous" air to the both of them, even though they seemed a bit reserved in their body language. They spoke quietly and never looked me in the eye when they addressed me, but were oddly very open with their sexuality and their romantic arrangement during our lunch conversation. The light bragging of their sexual escapades with other people was teetering on the line of "appropriateness" and "inappropriateness". The husband provided descriptions of his random romps with nameless men that were weaved in-between carefully spoken metaphors. Meanwhile, his wife giggled and just said, "Oh, he's so gay". I didn't hear much about her "experiences" or tried to probe her about them. She just mentioned her crocheting and tea making. I thought those things were more interesting to hear.

To be honest, I actually didn't mind the bombardment of questions and openness with their romantic affairs. I am not criticizing their arrangement at all- actually, I think it works very well for the both of them and I admire their communication and bond. They were constantly together, more than a married couple usually is, in my perspective. I really couldn't help but wonder if the only times when they are ever apart, independent and alone as individuals are with other romantic partners? No judgment here at all because it seems like they have a good thing going for them, but if they wanted to bed me, I think I have break their hearts. I don’t think I'm fit for polyamory at all. I

--

The two of them wanted to me try out a local matcha shop down the street. They were a little bit worried about parking the car because it was a packed Friday afternoon with many tourists and locals walking around this neighborhood. I didn't mind the walk, but they seemed a bit reluctant. I found out that the husband is very sensitive to the sun and had to quickly walk to every little bit of shade during our afternoon stroll. He was a very insistent gentleman and always positioned himself in between the street and his wife for a “matter of safety”. I wasn't used to that at all and chuckled nervously when he kept doing really gallantly romantic things during our walk. He kept opening doors for the two of us, insistent to pay at all time. The strangest thing was that he always had to sit facing the door. He told me, “in case of an emergency and he can fight off anyone who busts inside these doors to protect us.”

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

After our matcha break, I told them that I had a climbing session with friends after our hang out. The couple was a little worried because I had only eaten carbs, coffee, and tea. I told them not to fret at all. It was very sweet of them to be concerned about me. I felt like a spent a long time with them and I was running out of conversation topics that weren't about sex or culture. They dropped me off at the train station and sped off rather quickly. I am not sure if I'm going to meet them again, but they told me that they really wanted to climb with me, next time. I think my experience in climbing is what made them want to talk to me because they are just beginners at the sport and really enjoyed it. I didn't mind mentoring them at my favorite active hobby.

--

"Guys," I told my friends when I arrived at the gym, "I think I went on a date with a poly couple? I'm not very sure, maybe they want to fuck me?"

Maybe they're weighing their options. Who knows.


~ Friday I’m in love,

<3 K