my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

143. [OOMFH]: Climbing: Finding community at the climbing gym

I’ve been trying to establish a routine for myself as I settle in. I really felt like I haven’t found a consistent climbing partner here… It’s really nice to have a climbing partner, especially someone who is around the same level as you and is able to belay you when you want to do some sport climbing.

Around 2022, I have been steadily becoming a better lead climber. I was hitting around 6a+/6b, but in 2023, I got a bit injured and out of my head (mentally), so I didn't bother to continue lead climbing. Heights terrify me, but I've been working on it, especially when I do sport climbing. I trust my friends in the US to belay me properly. I haven't had an accident (until around late last year when I had an almost oopsie with my harness).

I decided to go climbing on Monday, around 7PM, which gives me 3 hours until closing to get some bouldering in and maybe stretch a bit. Bouldering is a very good activity to do alone. I often go to climbing gyms alone when I travel to different cities. I've realized that solo-traveling opens you up and forces you to do more solo activities, especially when you're often by yourself and don't know anyone in this brand-new city.


When I reached the gym, I stretched a bit and looked around. I went to the back of the gym, where they had a lot of bouldering problems. I attempted a lot of the harder routes. I am about a V3 to V5 level these days and I feel pretty proud of myself. I want to consistently hit all these intermediate to harder routes. I know that I'm not a beginner anymore, so that makes me feel happy about my progress.

I was running out of gas and I sat by a few people that seemed like my age. I watched as a young kid, probably around 10 years old, was attempting to do a more intermediate-level problem with his father. They were speaking Japanese to each other, discussing the beta and gesturing at the holds. I was just listening in, politely nodding to what they were saying.

One guy noticed that I was sitting near them and politely smiled at me. After a few attempts by other people, I decided to jump right in and try to flash it. I got a little stuck at the crux of the problem and jumped down. I looked at the Japanese climbers and smiled at them,

"難しいでしょう?"1 I say to them. They laughed and clapped their hands.

My father had told me an observation he had when he was traveling around by himself as a young man. Japanese people, according to him, have the tendency to look at a person rather inquisitively and curiously when they think that the stranger they are looking at is, in fact, Japanese. I often get this all over Asia when I'm going around, it's not limited to just Japanese people.

Ever since this little comment I made after falling off of the route, it gave me a "she's cool, she's also Japanese and we wanted to make sure she's not weird." hall pass. I slowly integrated into the group of Japanese climbers that live in the area. Every week, a sign up list gets posted, where they state the time: "19:00" and a list of names. I have the only Western name in the list, but my family name is Japanese. As a joke, sometimes I write in my name in Japanese, but I've stopped doing that after everyone writes their name in Latin alphabet...

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

I've observed that Japanese people take their friendships really slowly, whereas a lot of local Malaysians like to send a WhatsApp invite immediately. I didn't get into the Japanese climbing community WhatsApp group chat until 3 weeks of consistently going to the gym with them on Mondays, until they finally sent me the invite. I was very happy because now I have a chance to practice my Japanese every week. I am not near-fluent, but I am slowly getting there and am practicing my conversation skills. I am trying to get better at listening and producing sentences in every language I know these days.

Every week, I go climbing with the Japanese climbers. I feel so motivated when they shout "がんば, がんば"2 at me when I figure out a problem. I am glad I'm getting a routine built and have some friends in every little activity that I do.

I feel so happy I found way more than one climbing partner now.


~ a genki girl,

<3 K

🍄 https://exponixio.bearblog.dev/


  1. "Difficult, isn't it?"

  2. "You got it!/You can do it!/Go for it!/Keep at it!"

#climber #climbing #exercise #friends #friendship #friendships #hobby #oomfh #social