my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

84. Don't force yourself to be a cat person if you're a dog person

I don't buy the bullshit about the "dog person" vs. "cat person" personality traits, but there are some aspects of each lifestyle that I can see and relate to. Sometimes, I feel like these personalities don't totally fit me. Don't get me wrong, I absolutely love my dog (he now lives with my aunt and cousin in a different city... he's well-cared for so I don't mind the distance we have), but I can't see myself being a cat person (But I think cats are wonderful beings...)

I grew up in an absolutely-no-cats household. Some of us were/are allergic to cats, the sneezing and itchy eyes, the welts from tiny scratches, you know, the works. Some of my friends are actually allergic to cats too, so I felt bad whenever we would encounter a stray cat on a walk or something. I would never "get down, Mr. President" tackle them (the thought of that is kinda funny to me), but it's sad that they can't pet the cat with me.

My ex was a big cat person. I really did enjoy how he would talk about his cat so lovingly, but I realize that I don't think I can ever feel that enamored about a cat that I did with my dog... Cats are very cute. Very fluffy. Very relaxed and they are so independent-minded. My father told me that he thought they were okay. He had a cat growing up, but he was never fond of him, but adored his small dachshund. Maybe I inherited that kind of mentality? Yes, cats are very cool, but can they run around with you outside and tackle you to the ground because they're so excited to see you?

I remember talking with former partners and they would describe their ideal household set-up... Some of them would say: An affordable home with a cool garden and a office space. Somewhere cozy to fit the giant Husky in the house... Another would say: Maybe a nice apartment so that I can fit the cat in! Also, maybe a dog for you too, sweetie? Another one expressed wholeheartedly that they would love to have a chocolate lab...except, I didn't really want a big dog. I like big dogs, but I would rather prefer smaller dogs. Cute small to medium sized dogs.

I think a lightbulb moment hit me when I was talking with a new friend of mine the other days about our dogs. He is also away from his beloved pet because he is in another city. He tells me that he FaceTimes his family just to go see his dog. It reminded me of me loving my dog and I totally get it. We have similar breeds and they're probably the same size and height, so we both gushed about how cute and small they are.

Bottom line is, don't change yourself and try to be a cat person when you're truly a dog person at heart.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Here's a pic of my silly little dog when he was a baby. I can't stop laughing at this photograph. His eyes glazed over like that. He's a bit special. I adore him so much.


~ dog lover,

<3 K