my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

146. Dim Sum 101

On Friday, I was invited to go eat dim sum. I've had my fair share of dim sum experiences throughout the years.

What we call “dim sum” is actually a traditional Cantonese meal served as a light accompaniment to tea. In my mind, it bears a similarity to tapas from Spain, which is basically an array of small dishes that served as an accompaniment to beverages.

Here's a fairly good article in Wikipedia excerpt about this food:

Dim sum (traditional Chinese: 點心; simplified Chinese: 点心) is a large range of small Chinese dishes that are traditionally enjoyed in restaurants for brunch. Most modern dim sum dishes are commonly associated with Cantonese cuisine, although dim sum dishes also exist in other Chinese cuisines. In the tenth century, when the city of Guangzhou (Canton) began to experience an increase in commercial travel, many frequented teahouses for small-portion meals with tea called yum cha, or "drink tea" meals. Yum cha includes two related concepts. The first is "yat jung leung gin" (一盅兩件), which translates literally as "one cup, two pieces". This refers to the custom of serving teahouse customers two pieces of delicately made food items, savory or sweet, to complement their tea. The second is dim sum (點心) and translates literally to "touching heart", the term used to designate the small food items that accompanied the tea drinking.

While dim sum is a beloved culinary tradition across various Chinese-speaking regions, there are subtle differences in the styles and flavors of dim sum found in Singapore, Malaysia, Hong Kong, and Taiwan. I have not visited mainland China yet, so I do not think I can provide any notes on their dim sum from personal experience. Here are some of the different observations I had when I sampled the different countries' dim sum.

[Note: If there are any errors or anything, please feel free to message me and I will make the corrections and mention your name :)]


Table of Contents

Different Countries' Dim Sum Observations

Iconic Dim Sum Dishes


1

Hong Kong Dim Sum:

2.

Malaysian-Chinese Dim Sum:

3.

Singapore-Chinese Dim Sum:

4.

Taiwanese Dim Sum:


Here's the run down on my favorite classic dim sum dishes

5.

Steamed Dim Sum Dishes:

6.

Fried Dim Sum Dishes:

7.

Baked Dim Sum Dishes:


In summary, while Malaysian, Singaporean, Hong Kong, and Taiwanese dim sum share common roots in Chinese culinary tradition, each region has developed its own distinct style and flavors influenced by local ingredients, cultural practices, and regional preferences.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

My xiao long bao (soup dumplings)

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

I have a good spread going on

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

I'm having Malaysian yum cha rn


~ a dim sum amateur,

<3 K

🍄 https://exponixio.bearblog.dev/

#chinese #cuisine #food #foodie #recipes