my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

113. [DIEC] Cebu City: a cultural hub to see

Before I forget, I have many photos saved in my drive that I have to share from my day trip journeys and travel adventures. I'm just a monthly publisher on Instagram, but somewhat of an "everyday fiend" on Bear.


Cebu City has a rich cultural and historical heritage. It is one of the oldest cities in the Philippines and played a crucial role in the country's history, being the site of the first Spanish settlement in the Philippines. I got a chance to visit the city for the first time in my life before I got to see some relatives in my hometown.

I got a chance to explore some of the city before heading to the other destinations on the island - like Moalboal and Bohol, which is quite close to the 'capital' city. When I arrived there, I was super overwhelmed with the bustling city life and the unfamiliar places. Cebuano/Visayan is the dialect they speak and I was trying my best to keep afloat and talk to the locals.

Here are some photos that I want to share!


my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Minor Basilica of the Holy Child of Cebu (Basilica Del Sto. Niño). I walked passed and got a glimpse of the service going on

--

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Magellan's Cross Pavilion is a stone kiosk in Cebu City, Philippines. The structure is situated on Plaza Sugbo beside the Basilica del Santo Niño. It was really big and the wood is beautiful!

--

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

A nice sunset

--

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Deep in one of the night markets is a bunch of people watching a basketball game. Filipinos love the sport of basketball. It was super exciting to see!

--

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Local jeepney

--

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

This is the Heritage of Cebu Monument. It is a series of sculptures commemorating important events & buildings from Cebu's colonial past. It actually is really big.

--

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

I always giggle at the sight of SE Asia telephone/electricity wiring on the street. I hope it all works.


~ a cebu city memory collector,

<3 K

#city #diec #friends #life #personal #tourist #travel #traveling #world