my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

70. [BME] Lumpia (Filipino egg rolls)

One of my favorite recipes I like making with my family is lumpia. Almost every country in Asia has its own interpretation of spring rolls, or egg rolls in the United States. In the Philippines, spring rolls are called lumpia.

Lumpia are Filipino fried spring rolls filled with ground meat (usually pork or chicken) and mixed vegetables. You usually serve them as an appetizer or finger food, with a sweet and sour dipping sauce. I have a different spin on this recipe though, my mom suggests that we add some potatoes in the filling. I find it interesting because potatoes are normally not in lumpia recipes. I don't really see many Filipino dishes having potatoes inside of them actually?

Although the Spanish most likely brought the potato to the Philippines, the precise date or circumstances of the introduction is unknown. History records showed that the first mention of the potato in the Philippines was made by the Jesuit naturalist, George Joseph Camel, who lived in the Archipelago in the late 18th Century. The term “papa” was recorded by him as the word used by Filipinos and Spaniards to designate the crop.

Although potato was first introduced in the Philippines in Cebu, it was not until in the 1920’s when the crop was brought to the highlands of Luzon, particularly Mountain Province, that potato was given importance. By the late 1930’s it was being produced in greater quantities. The demand for potatoes increased significantly with the continuing presence of American in Baguio, Manila, and the military bases.

From: Edge Davao: AGRITRENDS: A [second] look at the lowly potato

Here are my notes I jotted down while cooking hehe

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

Below is the recipe for lumpia:

Table of Contents:


Lumpia

Prep time: 2 hours, 30 minutes

Serving size: 8+ people

120+ rolls

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me


Ingredients

Protein:

Vegetables:

Flavoring:

Wrapping:


Directions

  1. Mix the filling: combine protein, carrots, potatoes with eggs in a large bowl.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

  1. Cook the filling: FIRSTLY, cook the onion and garlic in greased-up large pot. Add the mixture and fully cook the protein mixture of your choice (chicken pictured here) in a large pot.

Add the bouillon cubes, oyster sauce, Magic Sarap seasoning, and garlic salt

To make it more sticky, add the corn starch + chicken broth mixture when it’s nearly finished cooking (shown below). Add the cilantro in the bowl you will set aside your lumpia mixture. Remove from heat and let cool.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

  1. Assemble the lumpia: Place 20 mL (used a medicine cup) of the filling on the wrapper and follow the instructions below on to roll and seal the lumpia. Repeat until all the rolls are assembled.

  2. Fry the lumpia: Heat oil in a skillet. Fry the lumpia three to five rolls at a time. Turn until all sides are brown. Drain on a paper towel.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me


How to roll a lumpia

  1. Place one of the rectangular wrappers vertically on your work surface with the short edge facing you.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

  1. Place a heaping 20 mL of the filling on the wrapper about half an inch from the edge closest to you.
  2. Grasp the bottom edge of the wrapper and roll it up and over the filling, fold once

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

  1. Close the "triangle" of your wrapper by folding the left and right sides. Make sure everything is tight! ROLL CIRCULARLY. TUCK THE WRAPPER INTO THE FILLING. ROUND IT OUT.

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me

  1. Continuing to roll until 2 inches of wrapper remain. Seal with egg whites wash you set aside. When you're finish with an egg roll, put the ending of the wrapper at the bottom of the roll (don't let it unfold, press it down)

my thoughts are marbles, roll with me


~ a lumpia gurl,

<3 K